uno linked to printrboard

Hi PEEPS, Complete NEWB to the world of arduino,
Before I go out spending money, I am working on a project using TOF sensors and there direction will be controlled via stepper motors, my plan is to use the stepper motors and the breakout board from an old 3d printer and would very much like to know is it possible to link up my UNO to a PRINTRBOARD breakout boad to control said stepper motors, if so could you provide some form of wire diagram as to how it can be connected up, and any useful links to scripts or library that you think I am going to need.

PRINTRBOARD EXTENSION CONNECTIONS.jpg

Images from Original Post so we don't have to download them. See this Simple Image Posting Guide

PRINTRBOARD EXTENSION CONNECTIONS.jpg

...R

When it was in use how was the 3D printer board controlled? Many of them expect to be sent GCode instructions - but I don't see a USB connection on your board.

In theory it should be possible for an Arduino to send GCode if the 3D printer board can accept serial commands but a PC or a RaspberryPi would make things a lot easier.

What microprocessor is on the 3D printer board? Maybe the simplest thing would be to re-program it to do what you want?

...R

I was given the printer as parts in a box, the only thing that I could see was missing, was the control screen, which you could control the motors, turn things on and off etc without using Gcode. it works on the same principle as my current 3d printer where by you plug in a micro sd card ( in the bottom right corner ). that would have the Gcode file created from a splicer program.
My mind tells me it should be possible to send some form instruction from the uno instead of the control screen. if that makes sense.

zzrblokey:
My mind tells me it should be possible to send some form instruction from the uno instead of the control screen. if that makes sense.