Uno R3: Button on Pin 3 causing Pin 2 to appear "pressed"?

Absolute newbie to Arduino’s and hardware programming in general, but my Google-fu failed me and I couldn’t find anything about this issue I’m running into so here goes:

I’m trying to wire something up that has 4 buttons that increment/decrement an integer value. Tight now I’ve only wired up one button on my breadboard to test with and I’m starting to see some strange behavior. I tested the button setup on every pin.

• Pins 0 and 1 weren’t working but from the board (and the product page for the Unos) these pins seems to be reserved for transmitting and receiving TTL data so that’s somewhat expected, even if I don’t fully understand (yet) what that means.
  • Pins 2, 4, 5, 8, 12 worked as expected
  • Pins 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13: these are strange ones - for example with pin 3 even when the code is not “watching” this pin when I have the button plugged into it pin 2 seems to be detecting “changes”. Is this pin linked to pin 2? I couldn’t find any special case documentation and looking at the pin mappings (http://arduino.cc/en/Hacking/PinMapping168) nothing really called out that these are special/reserved pins.

I have the NO button wired on a breadboard with pin 1 of the button connected to the 5V and the other to ground (via a 20k resistor… arbitrary resistor that was just lying around) as well as a jumper that I move between the digital inputs.

The code I’m using to test the button states is as follows:

#include <Event.h>

int buttonPins[] = {2};
const int numButtons = sizeof(buttonPins) / sizeof(int);
int oldButtonStates[numButtons];

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);

for (int i = 0; i < numButtons; i++)
  {
    pinMode(buttonPins[i], INPUT);
    oldButtonStates[i] = digitalRead(buttonPins[i]); // Detect initial state so we don't "miss" the first click
  }
}

void loop()
{
  for (int i = 0; i < numButtons; i++)
  {
    processButton(i);
  }
}

void processButton(int buttonIndex)
{