Uno + shield + 1x9V

First of all, please excuse my ignorance, I'm very new to this and trying to resolve that!

I have an Uno with an Adafruit prototype shield.

My plan is to put a 5V regulator on the proto shield to feed into a MAX232 and then feed the resultant signal to an ultrasonic sensor.

I want to power the whole thing via battery.

I was planning on attaching 9V directly to the regulator to output 5V directly into the MAX232, and I need the Uno to control the ultrasonic pulses.

Would the 9V battery be enough to power everything? Also if I attach the battery to the prototype shield, and send the 5V and GND to the corresponding rails or ports on the edges of the shield, will that be enough to feed the Uno?

I hope this makes sense. Many thanks for deciphering.

Would the 9V battery be enough to power everything?

Probably yes, at least for a few minutes. What did you expect? Why can I not find links to the exact hardware you're planning to use? Why do you want to add an additional regulator if the UNO already contains one?

Thanks for your reply.

I don't know what to expect exactly.

Apologies for the missing links.

Adafruit prototype shield

MAX232 datasheet

Planning to use an LM7805C for my own regulator.

I'd like to make sure that 5V goes into my MAX232 so that's why I want to use a regulator coming off the 9V battery. I am hoping that the 232 will then give me around 20 Vpp.

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

I think we need a bit more explanation about your project.

What are you doing with the MAX232 and to what Ultrasonic sensor?
What is the aim of your project?

Thanks.. Tom... :slight_smile:

pylon:
Why do you want to add an additional regulator if the UNO already contains one?

Because he wants to power something other than the ATmega328 chip and knows that the on-board regulator is not capable of powering anything else but that chip alone?

Smarter than many of the questions here about power supplies. :grinning: