UNO + unstable PWM + Linear Led Drive

Hello
This is my first attempt to build something (almost) on my own and I'm utterly stuck:

I am trying to control several LED strips via a 0-10V signal to a Linear Drive [1] with a UNO (which only gives me 0-5v, so I cranked up the intensity on the driver, but it is not really making it better), but I am not entirely convinced I have the most efficient set up:
When on the lower ranges the flickering is actually really distracting, so I was looking into MOSFETS (bought an assortment of what I could find) but I am starting to think that NPN-type transistor TIP120 and the others that I bought are too high capacity for what I am aiming to do, as when connected it just gives me full power regardless of the PWM.

I have no background in electronics, so I might have a whole or two on my set up; I have been making guestimates on resistor sizes, asking a lot of questions and reading forums; but some of the posts[2] that relate are too technical for my understanding. I would really appreciate if I can get some pointers on a way to amplify the PWM to 0-10 for the layman.

Thanx in advance,

[1] http://www.eldoled.com/powerdrive
[2] Arduino Forum

but I am starting to think that NPN-type transistor TIP120 and the others that I bought are too high capacity for what I am aiming to do, as when connected it just gives me full power regardless of the PWM.

No such thing as too high capacity.

The problem is that you do not say how you are trying to wire this thing up. To get help you need to post a schematic showing how you have wired it.
The link to the controller is a bit puzzling, this is a DMX driven device, you are not trying to put PWM to power this are you?

Grumpy_Mike

Ok, wrong term, the capacitance in the transistor is working against me?

I am using the UNO (pin3 using analogWrite) connected to the 0-10V External Control Device on the Driver. I first looked into using DMX but it is way out of my league.