Unreliable Outputs from same code, beginner requiring guidance.

I am fairly new to arduino and am working on a project. If I upload the same code to the arduino with no changes, sometimes it will work completely fine, other times “flowSFM” will always be printed as 0 even when I know that isn’t the case, and other times “flowSFM” will be printed as normal for around 20 seconds, then will stop working and go to 0.

I am unsure of why it is so unreliable even when no changes to the code or circuit are made whatsoever. Could it be a problem in my code? Does anyone have any insight into why this might happen? Thanks

#include "ArduinoMotorShieldR3.h"
ArduinoMotorShieldR3 md;

#include <avr/pgmspace.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <sfm3000wedo.h>

int state = -1;
unsigned long startTime;
unsigned long duration;

SFM3000wedo measflow(64);

int offset = 32768;
int scale = 120;

void setup() {
  Wire.begin();
  delay(500);
  Serial.begin(9600);

measflow.init();
  Serial.println("Sensor initialized!");
  md.init();

Serial.print("Enter patient weight: ");
}

void loop() {

if (Serial.available() > 0) {
      int weight = Serial.parseInt();
      Serial.println(weight);

while (weight > 0) {

// for reading SFM3300
  float flowSFM = measflow.getvalue();
  //if (flowSFM > 0) flowSFM = flowSFM + offset;
  if (flowSFM > 0) flowSFM = 0;
  else if (flowSFM < 0) flowSFM = flowSFM - offset;
  flowSFM = flowSFM / scale;
  flowSFM = flowSFM * 16.6666;

if (flowSFM > 1.00) {
    Serial.println(flowSFM);
    Serial.print(millis());
    Serial.print(",  ");
    delay(100);
  }
  if (flowSFM < 1.00) {
    Serial.println(0.00);
    Serial.print(millis());
    Serial.print(",  ");
    delay(100);
  }

if ( millis() - startTime >= duration ) {
    // advance to next state
    state++;
    if ( state > 3 ) state = 0;
    startTime = millis();
    switch (state) {
      case 0:
        md.setM1Speed(350);
        duration = 600;
        break;
      case 1:
        md.setM1Speed(0);