Unsure what board to use

Hi,
I'm currently creating a school project of a number converter and need to make a physical product./ I have created the program in python, and I want to put it onto an ardurino. I'm new to ardurino, and I'm not sure what board to use. The program size is 128 kb, and i require a keypad input, and a LCD display. What is the best board for me to use?
Thanks,
Toby

Toby_Resnick:
Hi,
I’m currently creating a school project of a number converter and need to make a physical product./ I have created the program in python, and I want to put it onto an ardurino.

The Arduino isn’t coded for using python, but rather C/C++; I’m also curious how you coded this “blind” without having any embedded I/O available (not saying it would be impossible - just curious as to your solution)…

Toby_Resnick:
I’m new to ardurino, and I’m not sure what board to use. The program size is 128 kb, and i require a keypad input, and a LCD display. What is the best board for me to use?

Since you mention you used Python and the Arduino uses C/C++ - none of them will work for you. If you can re-implement your logic in C/C++, using the Arduino IDE - then compile it (but not upload it) - you can then know the size of the hex executable that would be uploaded to the Arduino, and from there be able to decide on which version to use.

You also didn’t say what you mean by an “LCD Display” - how is it interfaced? Is it a large graphical display? Does it require parallel I/O coupled with a memory buffer? Or is it a standalone system with an intelligent controlller? If so, how is it interfaced? SPI? I2C? Some other method?

Basically, you would need to know this information to know which Arduino to get as well, because of pin constraints; alternatively, depending on the methods and needs involved, there might be a way to expand the I/O capabilities if a smaller Arduino with fewer pins can be used.