Unsure why individual timers are not working. I am a new beginner

So I have 4 leds, 1 pulses regularly like a heartbeat. The other three are needed to go turnoff with 5 seconds in between each other. I have only just started, however I have read a lot of coding throughout the arduino website to try and help me. The program will easily time up to 5 seconds where the first led will turn off. However after that the other two do not go off at 10 seconds and then a gain at 15 seconds and I can't work out how. I have never used timers before only delays. However for the pulse to keep pulsing I can not use delay. Please note I am using an arduino lilypad if that makes any difference

For the timer I have used both int interval = 5000; to create the 5 seconds pause

but then 9000 does not work for 9 seconds etc. I did some research and saw how you use (60 * 60 * 1000); to make it work, however I still don't know why, I have done loads of research, but I just can't get my head around it. I don't even know it I'm doing it the right way. Any advice would be amazing to have Thank you

here is the code

int led7 = 7;// light that will go off int led8 = 8;// light that will go off int led9 = 13; // light that will go off const int LED = 9; // pulse led

unsigned long currentMillis; unsigned long previousMillis = 0; // will store last time LED was updated int interval = 5000; // interval at which to blink (milliseconds) int interval2 = ( 9 * 1000); int interval3 = (15 * 1000);

//sensor int sensorPin = 0; // light sensor is connected to analog pin 0 int sensorValue; // variable to store the value coming from the sensor

void setup() { digitalWrite(led7, HIGH); //makes leds default on digitalWrite(led8, HIGH); digitalWrite(led9, HIGH);

pinMode(led7, OUTPUT); pinMode(led8, OUTPUT); pinMode(led9, OUTPUT);

Serial.begin( 9600);

}

void loop () { //for sensor