Unwanted servo travel

Hi,

I'm new to Arduino and i've been playing with the example sketches. I'm trying out a servo with a potentiometer running the knob example sketch. It works ok except that when i turn the potentiometer fast to the center (position 90) from one end (position 180), the servo will quickly travel to the other end (position 0) and then back to the center position (90). It only does this from 0 to 90, not the other way around (90 to 0). If i turn it slow (normal speed) it won't overshoot.

I came about this problem when i hooked up a joystick(basicely a potentiometer on springs) instead of the potentiometer. When i pulled the stick to one side and let it go the servo would go to the center position, but when i pull the stick to the other side and let it go the servo will travel all the way to the other end and back to the center position again.

I made my circuit like this video

I have an arduino uno. a modelcraft y3009 servo http://shop.conrad.nl/hobby/modelbouw/afstandsbedieningen-en-elektronica/servos/servos/209089.html i used this video tutorial from makezine to make the circuit http://blog.makezine.com/archive/2009/02/how-to-tuesday-arduino-101-potentio.html

Does anyone have any idea how i can prevent this traveling of the servo?

I think this is a function of your servo motor not anything you are doing with it. As such I don't think there is a cure.

Perhaps you are getting an input signal of 0 Can you track what the input signals are? Perhaps you are telling the servo to go to zero Can you track what servo commands you are sending to the servo?

I think that some debug statements showing the input and output signals might help identify the problem.

but when i pull the stick to the other side and let it go the servo will travel all the way to the other end and back to the center position again.