Update on where i am at

Well, my idea to build a server seems to have developed into building a network. due to an early morning impulse buy, I have acquired a Dell PowerEdge 1950 (1U) server, no hard-drives. it was a pretty good buy, I think. probably eventually turn it into a email server. my other server will eventually be a website server, though it awaits a CPU heat-sing and fan, as well as hard-drives.

So I decided, as I am a carpenter, that I may as well build a rack enclosure. I found some 24U rack rails, and I plan on developing an Arduino based monitoring system for thermal sensors (probably LM34), and it will control a large fan at the top of the rack enclosure (ramp up based on temp). I have a Nextion display for the GUI, and I will integrate a web interface as well. I will eventually fire up a blog, with code, probably on my Github using the Readme as the blog.

Anyway, I have been quiet lately due to a lot of intense research. several projects seem to have fallen to the back burner.

~Travis

My poweredge 840 is really loud too at boot but quietens down very quickly.
Think its a feature as I noticed a few poweredge people mention it and the work around is to fudge the bios on most of them.

Not going there cos it works like it should and will be moving to a cabinet (read dark closet with a good airflow) later anyway.

There are so some mods than can be done in replacing some of the fans too by all account.

Ahha that's where your Arduino skills come in to tell you if the noise / temperature / humidity is above or below norm and send it to your phone or other display (flashing beacon).

Like my intellinet KVM but would prefer something with a better set of display ports than the VGA ones and less like a dead spider when everything is plugged in…least its go usb LOL