upload crashes software!!

I am a complete beginner and have just uploaded my very first sketch (blink). It worked fine but I then tried to upload another sketch, but it continues to crash the environment so I have to force quit. I am using a arduino mini connected by the mini usb adaptor on a macbook leopard. Heres the sketch:

#define NUMBER_OF_PINS 4
int sensorValue;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop() {
for(int pin=0; pin < NUMBER_OF_PINS; pin++){
sensorValue = analogRead(pin);
int range = (6797 / (sensorValue - 3)) - 4;
Serial.println(range, DEC);
delay(10);
}
}

does anybody know whats going on?
Thanks
Nic

When does the environment crash? You might try increasing the delay() from 10 to say 100 - if you send data too quickly it can overwhelm the serial monitor.

Still no luck. It crashes before it even uploads onto the board. I've tried it from different computers and it crashes the environment on all. Any ideas as to what the problem might be? Nicola

Can you be more specific? Are you pressing the upload button? What happens before the crash? How does it behave once it's crashed?

What happens if you press compile instead of upload?

It comes up with the sketch size when I compile the sketch, seems ok. I press upload (the yellow light starts flashing on the mini usb adaptor) but then it says its uploading until the program just stops responding. I've tried it a few computers and have reinstalled the environment with no luck. What should I try now? Thank you for your help btw!

Can you take a picture of your circuit / boards?

er can I direct you to my flickr page cos that didn't work! http://www.flickr.com/photos/14223379@N02/2329280207/

Can you try with different sketches? Can you try without mini connected (only with mini usb converter)? Can you try only with usb cable (with no boards connected)? Can you try with no cable connected?