Upload error

When I try to upload I get an error that reads in red text;

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x30

I am a novice with arduino but this my second uno: I am using this uno straight out of sealed packaging. Is it faulty or have I forgotten something?

All help appreciated.

Do you have the correct serial port selected? The port assigned to your second Uno?

TimFr:
When I try to upload I get an error that reads in red text;

I am a novice with arduino but this my second uno: I am using this uno straight out of sealed packaging. Is it faulty or have I forgotten something?

All help appreciated.

Check this process and they try to upload.

hi, iam also getting this same error, i have tried all that given in the images, still not working, is anyone there to help me.

my error code

(deleted)

adalarasu:
hi, iam also getting this same error, i have tried all that given in the images, still not working, is anyone there to help me.

my error code

Its bootloader problem only. update the booty loader using avr pocket programmer

hi,
here Iam attaching the first 4 images out of 7 images total. and the remaining 3 images follows. kindly give me a solution
regards,
adalarasu

hi,
I am attaching the remaining 3 images here, kindly help me,
regrads,
adalarasu.

In first image i can see you have not connected avr pocket programmer.

Please refer the avr pocket programmer here, Then upload boot loader as you showing in image

hi amps,
my os is windows xp,
iam unable to understand, whether the avr programmer is a hardware or software,
kindly help me,
regrds,
adalarasu.

It just hardware . It allows you upload bootloader. I shared link where you get kit.
Just Follow steps.

hi,
i tried to connect my arduino to another computer, which is also a compaq laptop.
in that computer its working and iam able to upload my sketch.
question is,

1. why iam unable to upload from my first laptop, as both are having windows xp os.