Uploading via serial adapter: what settings?

Novice here.

My 328 runs OK on my UNO board. I've moved it a breadboard wired correctly for use independently. That runs OK when a 5V power supply is connected.

I now want to upload a new sketch to it via my 'CH340G Serial USB to UART TTL Adapter'. But I can find no combination of settings that works' All give an error, usually one of those 'Attempt to sync...' types.
What Board and Programmer should I use please?

I don't really understand how any is relevant, as there is no longer an Arduino board in use!

(deleted)

The "board" sets parameters like the chip, the clock speed, what bootloader the IDE will assume is present and try to communicate with. So if you took your working chip from an Arduino Uno, you should select Arduino Uno as the board.

If you are using a board definition with a bootloader, Tools -> Programmer is only used when doing "burn bootloader" or "upload using programmer". If using a board definition that doesn't specify a bootloader, it is used for uploads as well. In any event, you should select the programmer you are using - this is a physical device that you have connected to the chip or board that you are programming. To determine the correct programmer to select in cases where you are using a programmer, look down at it and look for a name that matches something in the menu.

Based on your description of the problem, I conclude that your breadboard is in fact not wired correctly. Possible issues: