[URGENT] Measuring time interval for serial communication

Hi guys, I’m a newbie to both arduino and python programming.

My aim is to establish a serial communication between arduino and pc by using pyserial and then measure the reaction time of both sides.

STEPS :

1. upload sketch to arduino
  2. run python code
  3. something prompt by the python coding which requires arduino to react by sending something back to python
    4 ) python calculates the time taken for this

This is quite urgent for me :frowning:

I have basic codes for the serial communication
but i have no idea how to combine with the time measurements

serial_test_2.ino (201 Bytes)

int cnt=0;
void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {

Serial.print("I am Counting to: ");
  Serial.print(cnt);
  Serial.println(" Mississippi.");
  cnt=cnt+1;
  delay(1000);

}

Is this a Python or Arduino query ? Are you aware of the Arduino micros() and millis() functions that would allow you to measure time intervals down to 4 microseconds an 1 millisecond respectively ?

This Python - Arduino demo may be helpful.

It should not be too difficult to add code on the Python side to measure the round trip time.

...R

I have basic codes for the serial communication

would help if you had shared them...

J-M-L: would help if you had shared them...

I guess it's the code that OP attached and that AWOL kindly posted ;)

sterretje: I guess it's the code that OP attached and that AWOL kindly posted ;)

where is the python? that's not a communication, that's a monologue (and not a very interesting one :) )

J-M-L: where is the python?

Somewhere in the bush (rock python will be somewhere on the rocks having a nap) :D

Python on the rocks? Ugh. I'll stick with whiskey on the rocks.

We have not heard from the OP so it seems the word "[URGENT]" has taken on a meaning with which I am not familiar.

...R