USB game controller used to control motor and light

I’m new to Arduino. I’m trying to control a motor and two lights (turn them on and off) using a USB game controller connected to the arduino and/or the computer. Any help would be great!
Thanks

Identify all parts with links so we know what you are using would be a good start.

Weedpharma

I'm using the Sunfounder mega 2560 board.

The logitech gamepad F310
Getting Started - Gamepad F310 – Logitech Support + Download .

The lights use a flash light bulb and external battery.

Finally, I'm using HG2223 KV1800 Brushless Motors

I'm thinking I will need a USB shield to fit onto the 2560 board to plug the logitech gamepad into.

Thanks

I'm thinking I will need a USB shield to fit onto the 2560 board to plug the logitech gamepad into.

So what have you done on that part? Possible info below.

https://www.google.com/search?ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=usb+host+shield&btnG=search&domains=http%3A%2F%2Fforum.arduino.cc&sitesearch=http%3A%2F%2Fforum.arduino.cc&gws_rd=ssl

Is there something you really like about the game controller you want to use? As mentioned in this thread, there are lots of game controllers which don't require any special hardware to interface with an Arduino.

Of course you have the option of using any sort of joystick you want if you make your own controller.

I think this joystick is really cool and it seems like I post a picture of it every other day or so.

DuaneDegn,