USB Host question for a complete beginner (FLIR)

Hello all !

I am proficient with “normal” arduino and avr programming, but am completely new to usb work.

I have a flir camera imaging core that has a usb interface for embedded integration. I simply want to tell it to zoom in or zoom out (digital zoom). I have the data sheets for the communication sentences to send, but I have NO idea how to actually send the data. Datasheet is attached (see page 19)

I have used the Circuits@Home’s MAX3421 mini usb board along with demo code and successfully gotten the devices ID etc, so I know comm is good.

Now, I am looking to have the most bear-bones code to successfully send either a zoom-in or zoom-out code

ANY help is greatly appreciated. I have spent a lot of time trying to get on my feet, but am truly lost.
THANKS!

edit:
While i’m a student, I can pay for really good help, as its been a project a long time in the making!

Interface for 3000 and 4000.pdf (580 KB)

I hate to bump this, but can anyone please help?

USB, like all modern communication protocols, has multiple layers.

There is the physical layer (the differential pair of wires connecting the devices), the link layer (performs CRC of incoming / outgoing packets), the packet layer (contains address and payload), and then the application stuff that goes into the packets.

Most Operating Systems implement drivers which provide everything up to the application layer, then it is up to applications on the PC to communicate commands through the driver.

Since there is no OS for the Arduino, you'll have to write almost all of that and in those layers. It won't be as simple as putting a command in the MAX3431's register to go out to your device.

I believe the IC I’m communicating with is the TI’s TMS320 (datasheet attached).