USB serial comms to line camera

I'm an Arduino newbie looking for advice.
I have a line camera with a microcontroller that has a USB connection (for use on PC). It has an FTDI chip for the USB connection that can also be used as a virtual COM on the PC and when I do so I can control the camera functions using simple ASCII letter commands.

My problem is, apart from experience with the Arduino, that I don't know enough of that whole USB, USB as virtual COM port etc. to figure out if the control could be managed by the Arduino without USB host shield. (I have bought one but now wonder if I could get away without using that, saving space and complexity).

Anyone with some experience in how to realize serial comms with the Arduino over the USB port who could point me in the right direction?

thanks in advance,
Prieni

Have you the option of connecting to the downstream side of the FTDI chip - where the TTL Rx and Tx signals are? If so you may be able to bypass the USB stuff.

...R

Robin2:
Have you the option of connecting to the downstream side of the FTDI chip - where the TTL Rx and Tx signals are? If so you may be able to bypass the USB stuff.

...R

Possibly. There seems to be (or was, at least) a RS232 version of that board and there is preparation for a seven pin header that I suspect to be for a RS232 - would need to do some research on where these pads go. Could test if they have connection (and where to on) the FTDI chip.
Guess I have to look into RS232 on the Arduino anyways as I need to pipe some data from the sensor back to the ship through the cable.

Thanks for the pointer,
Prieni

Seems not the way to go, it uses a FT245BL ( http://www.ftdichip.com/Products/ICs/FT245B.htm ) which is a USB to parallel converter...

It's all very frustrating as there is no proper documentation - it's either at school kid level or way over my head.