USB-Type C Andriod Game Controller

Hello, and welcome to my first post. My name is King, I'm 19 years old, and this'll be my first proper electronics project. I'm a complete beginner when it comes to this stuff I've tinkered around with game systems before and built the pc I'm typing this on, but I have zero microcontroller nor coding experience. I've always been interested in it though, so what's a better way to get into it other than jumping headfirst into an overly-ambitious project and learning from the consequential failure?

Moving on to the project itself, the goal is to have a wired gaming controller with 14 buttons and 2 analog sticks that plugs into an android device via USB Type-C. From the bit of research I've done what I need to do is buy a microcontroller, create or find a program that makes the microcontroller reads as a game controller, solder the buttons, house everything together and voila.

I'm not completely sure if that's what I actually have to do which is why I'm posting here. There's also a few thing I want to ask about. One being which board would be best here? I'm thinking about an arduino micro or teensy board but if there's something more ideal I want to know. Also I wanted to ask about feasibility. There's already a ton of gaming controller projects out there so I can't imagine it being the hardest but they've mostly are built around PC. I'm not sure how hard it'll be getting it to work with android.

Any general advice would also be appreciated. This is more of a long term project that I'll keep reiterating on until I'm satisfied. Thanks for reading!

I know that Micro etc can enulate a keyboard or mouse on a Windows or Linux pc/laptop. I don't know if it can act as a game controller, or if it can do any of those things on Android.

I guess the fact that the phone connector is type C is just a detail. I assume you can get type C to type A "OTG" adaptors just like you can for microUSB.