USBAsp and Arduino Question

I am a newbie to Arduino and I am completely confused. I have started to set up an Arduino on a Breadboard from THIS GUIDE on SITE. I want to ask if I can burn bootloader and upload sketches to Arduino using a USBAsp. If I can then why would I need a USB to Serial Breakout board? It will be great if somebody please guides me.

Thanks.

EDIT :

I might be wrong that the USBAsp can be used to upload sketches to the Atmega328P? Then I think I will essentially need a USB to TTL [e.g. the PL2303HX]? [I can't live with this confusion in my mind and my heads gonna explode any minute now! Please help me!]

USBASP is used to burn a bootloader into the '328P via the SPI interface pins - you connect up to SCK, MISO, MOSI, Reset, Vcc, Gnd. When Reset is pulled & held low by the programmer, access to the memory is direct via the SCK, MISO, MOSI pins. A sketch can also be loaded the same way, and then there is No bootloader. The IDE supports bootloader installation via Tools: Burn Bootloader. Sketch installation is supported with File:Upload Using Programmer.

After a bootloader is installed, the bootloader code then watches the serial port after a reset for a few seconds to see if commands come to say "install this sketch", at which point the bootloader interacts with the PC (or equivalent) to receive data and put it into flash memory. If no commands come in, the existing sketch is started.

Does that help?

Writz: I might be wrong that the USBAsp can be used to upload sketches to the Atmega328P? Then I think I will essentially need a USB to TTL [e.g. the PL2303HX]? [I can't live with this confusion in my mind and my heads gonna explode any minute now! Please help me!]

You can use a USBasp to program the bootloader onto a chip, or to skip the bootloader and just directly program the sketch.

If you program the bootloader, you can then program the sketch via the serial pins, using a USB->TTL converter.