Use buttons during delay

I am quite new to Arduino and I am working on a time bomb to use in airsoft. As a test, before buying things like an LCD, horn speaker, etc. I am making this small version with the buzzer and buttons included in the starter kit.

I got it working completely, one button adds 60 seconds to the timer, one button adds 1 second to the timer. Another button starts the timer, another button defuses it and also resets the timer to 0.

To make the timer count down I use a delay(500) twice (with the buzzer beeping inbetween). But because of this delay, I need to hold the reset/defuse button 1 second before it reads the input.

So my question is:

How do I take input from different buttons while the timer is active?

compy111: I am quite new to Arduino and I am working on a time bomb to use in airsoft. As a test, before buying things like an LCD, horn speaker, etc. I am making this small version with the buzzer and buttons included in the starter kit.

I got it working completely, one button adds 60 seconds to the timer, one button adds 1 second to the timer. Another button starts the timer, another button defuses it and also resets the timer to 0.

To make the timer count down I use a delay(500) twice (with the buzzer beeping inbetween). But because of this delay, I need to hold the reset/defuse button 1 second before it reads the input.

So my question is:

How do I take input from different buttons while the timer is active?

A way to do delay without your code wait is in this link https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/BlinkWithoutDelay

Nixtas has the idea, but in your case, you want to use that code example to 'Read button without delay()' Exactly the same principal - check your button state into a 'flag' where the LED action occurs, and act on that state elsewhere when needed.