Use of A4988 driver

First, I'm a newbie trying very hard to get into the Arduino thing. I'm building a liquid dosing apparatus that will use 4 peristaltic pump heads driven by NEMA 17 stepper motors. In my research I have come across the A4988 drivers. Everything I've read about them seems to indicate that they are only usable for CNC purposes.

In my project the sketch would need to:

Start the motors at a given time.
Run them for a specified period of time at a specified speed.
Stop the motors when the run period has elapsed.

Assuming that my sketch is written correctly, would the A4988 drivers be an acceptable choice for my project?

Thanks for your opinion.

Tom

try ’ Adafruit motor shield for Arduino’ - that’s what the NEMA 17 suppliers recommend.

You’d need one per motor.

On paper the A4988 also looks excellent - you can buy breakout boards for these too

regards

Allan

Thanks Allan.

Anyone have any experience with A4988 with something other than CNC?

I glass.

I am working with a A4988 Driver and it works well.

It works from 8V to 35V, in my case with 12V works with very good torque.

Code this is not hard, give it a try

The A4988 is specifically intended for driving stepper motors. It does not matter what the motor is used for.

If you have any choice in the matter do NOT use a h-bridge motor shield to drive a stepper motor.

You need to post a link to the datasheet for your stepper motors - Nema17 is just the physical size of the front of the motor and tell us nothing about its electrical characteristics. It may need something more powerful than an A4988.

...R
Stepper Motor Basics
Simple Stepper Code

Thanks for all the replies. Exactly what I needed. Here are the specs from the motor I’m looking at:

From StepperOnline
Part Number 17HS19-2004S1
Motor Type Bipolar Stepper
Step Angle 1.8°
Hold. Torque 59Ncm(83.6oz.in)
Rated Current 2.0A
Phase Resist. 1.4ohms
Voltage 12-24V
Inductance 3.0mH±20%(1KHz)
Leads 4