Use of ? to decide which string to use

I recently came across the following: Serial.println(Output ? "On" : "Off"); which, from what appeared when printed showed that what was printed, "On" or "Off, was determined by the value of the variable 'Output'. I have found, by intuition, that I can use, for example: pstring = pstring + String(Direction ? 'C':'T'); to append either 'C' or 'T' to pstring depending on the value of 'Direction'. What I can't find is a description of this, nor the correct 'google' phrase, so I can actually find the definition of the use of '?' in this manner. Any links, or really clear SIMPLE explanations? Thanks Dave

Google "c++ triadic operator" or "c++ ternary operator"

http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/139650/

The first answer.

A ? B:C Gives B if A is true, C if A is false.

AWOL and CFK, thanks to both of you, so it doesn't just apply to strings!!!! I'm so glad I asked. 40 years of coding, but only 3 weeks in C, and I'm still learning. I started playing with Arduino's to stop my 70 year old brain becoming a vegetable and I'm so glad I did, I notice the difference already. Regards Dave PS I also have the Raspberry Pi but I'm not sure I can cope with C and Python at the same time. :confused:

I'm learning every day still...

Python is also great. But as my old teacher said: "Start with C, everything else becomes so much easier when you already know C!"