User input to serial monitor without effecting LCD

Hello,
I’m a complete novice but I’m building a weather monitor that displays humidity, ambient temperature and infrared sky temperature both on the LCD and on the serial monitor. I want to be able to input a sky temperature threshold on the serial monitor only so a bleep is triggered when the reading is above that threshold. I have done this and it works but the problem I am having is that I am prompted for input after every reading and I only want to put in the threshold once without the LCD freezing while the serial waits for input because I want the unit to work both as a stand alone device and as something that displays to the serial monitor when needed. I am unsure where to go from here. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Here is the entire code.

#include "DHT.h"                // includes the DHT11 library for temperature and humidity
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>      // includes the LiquidCrystal Library 
#include <Wire.h>               // includes the Wire library for the IR thermometer
#include <Adafruit_MLX90614.h>  // includes the MLX90614 library for the IR thermometer

#define DHTPIN 8                // Digital pin connected to the DHT sensor (connected to analog pin 8)
                                // Feather HUZZAH ESP8266 note: use pins 3, 4, 5, 12, 13 or 14 --
                                // Pin 15 can work but DHT must be disconnected during program upload.

#define DHTTYPE DHT11           // Define the type of DHT sensor (in this case the 3 pin version of DHT11)

int tempThresh;  //The temperature thresshold declared as an integer

DHT dht(DHTPIN, DHTTYPE);

LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7);         // Creates an LCD object. Parameters: (rs, enable, d4, d5, d6, d7)

Adafruit_MLX90614 mlx = Adafruit_MLX90614();  // Sets up the IR thermometer

void setup() {