Using 10-position rotary switch to switch MP3

Hi all,

I am new to arduino but have an okay technical background, yet I am struggling to make my project work. Even though it has been a lot of fun playing around with my Sparkfun Inventors Kit (SIK) and going through the examples, my struggle is putting everything together for the project that is the reason I started down this path.

Basically I am trying to make my own Roman Retro Action Musical box, see amazon link here, and I want there to be a power push button that turns everything on, which includes green and red LED lights + christmas songs + rotating platform, and then 2 knobs to control the music, one that is a 10 position rotary switch (already purchased) that would switch songs on position 1-9, and have no music on position 10 (because always having the music on would be annoying, it might be nice to just have lights and rotating platform), and one knob that controls volume of the music (I have not purchased that knob yet).

Here are the parts I have:
Sparkfun Inventors Kit
MP3 Player Shield with SD card and 9 songs loaded onto it
Rotary Switch - 10 Position with Sparkfun Rotary Switch Breakout to switch songs

Parts I probably still need:
Volume knob (potentiometer?)
speaker
amp breakout

I have read several guides and tutorials that seem to similar to what I am trying to accomplish in part, but nothing is exactly the same and thus my struggle to put everything together. Some of the examples in the SIK also touch on the basics of what I am trying to do, but am still a little lost.

Can anyone in hear help guide me in the right direction? In both the arduino code and the physical setup of all the circuits/components. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!