Using 2 arduinos, motorshield, relay and motor.

Hello everyone, hoping for some suggestions on how to approach adding a second arduino with a motorshield to control the motor and 2 bump sensors. I am adding the second arduino above to an already working arduino controlling a ping sensor and a 7 segment display which sends a signal from pin 13 to a relay which turns on a pump for a water gun. The idea is to put this water gun on a motor flush with a tank i built, so that the motor will swing back and forth between 2 bump sensors to give a sweeping motion, with the 1st arduino providing the stop signal to the motor so the pump will fire at the moment of breaching the sensors threshold. problem for me is that im new to using arduinos, so im not sure how to hook the motor, bump sensors and the 1st arduino together. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

Why do you need two Arduinos? It doesn’t sound like you are taxing one yet.

Due to the motorshield and the bump sensors, i chose to utilize a second arduino, along with the first arduino housing (and driving) the 7 segment display shield, a ping sensor, and a relay to the water pump.

It's not the eases or best option. If you are running out of I/O pins look at using port expander or shift registers.

My concern is that the first arduino is sending the pulse from pin 13 to the relay that fires the water gun. The gun will need the motorshield close to help stop it when the firing sequence is sent to it, through the first arduino and relay. What I am asking for is help configuring the bump sensors and motorshield with the second arduino, then having the two arduinos "talk" to each other. Please help.