Using 2 x 74HC595 to control 2 Seperate LED bars?

Hi there,

I am relatively new to the Atmel/Arduino MCU's and have been playing around with a Mini for a prop I am making.

The basic gist is that I need 2 of the 74HC595 Shift registers (Not chained together) to simultaneously control 8 LED's each (16 Total).

Is their any way to go about this? Or do I need 2 mini's?

that's possible without daisychaining.
You simply have to use 6 Pins (8 with ground and VCC) to control the two led bars

so you have to make two latchpin's, two datapins and twoclockpins.
Know you can shiftoutt both shiftregister how you want

Yes, that's easy and you only need one Mini. Why do you not want to chain the registers together?

There could be a problem, though. 74hc595 was not really designed for driving leds, and cannot achieve maximum brightness for all 8 leds at once. It can drive 3 or 4 leds at max brightness, as long as the others are off, but if all 8 leds are to be on at once, you will have to use a lower brightness to avoid overloading the chip.

There are other chips that are very similar and just as easy to use that don't have that limitation.

Another option which you should consider is using ws2812b leds. These are a little more expensive than ordinary leds, but will save you time and effort overall. Each led has a shift register chip built-in and well let you control colour and brightness of each led individually.

PaulRB:
Yes, that's easy and you only need one Mini. Why do you not want to chain the registers together?

Reason being is that I would like to have 2 separate LED bars in sequence rather than just adding the option for an extra 8 at the end of the first.

I hope I am understanding that right.. :frowning:

I am basically building up the circuitry for a ghostbusters proton pack (With a Blue and Red LED bar graph for the pack and wand respectively)

I'll post a link to what I have done so far with some code that I have found.

oddsoul: