Using a accelerometer to measure negative speed of a rocket

I need to launch a rocket and recovery it. I'm trying to do by measure the speed of the rocket and when that speed get negative the parachute gonna be uncoupled.

I want get this negative speed with the accelerometer ADXL335. I already have the acceleration but I dont know how to get the speed (i didnt understand how to integrate in arduino).

I'm a novice with arduino and I need little help, if someone can give me a way to discovery the negative speed I appreciate.

An accelerometer measures acceleration, not speed.

If you throw a ball up into the air (neglecting air friction), after it leaves your hand the acceleration is constant at about 1 g, until it hits the ground.

What you want to do is detect apogee, which is not particularly easy to do. David Schultz used to have some great web pages on doing that for model rocketry, but they seem to have disappeared.

Some approaches are discussed here: https://cnx.org/exports/36fdaf81-f17c-4325-a90b-ffa07e2da5a6@1.1.pdf/digital-detection-of-rocket-apogee-1.1.pdf

Try a search for "model rocketry apogee detection".

jremington:

If you throw a ball up into the air (neglecting air friction), after it leaves your hand the acceleration is constant at about 1 g, until it hits the ground.

Yes, but an accelerometer reads forces against the sensor, not necessarily acceleration.

For instance, if you put an accelerometer on a table, it will read 1g in the Zth direction; yet the sensor is not accelerating.

If you put an accelerometer in the rocket, the accelerometer would probably be able to detect when the rocket engine/booster runs out of fuel - probably can’t detect apogee that well, but this should get OP close enough.

How about using an air pressure sensor?

an accelerometer reads forces against the sensor, not necessarily acceleration.