Using a DMX shield in Conjunction with Adafruit's NeoPixel Shield

Hello,

I'm very new to Arduino, I work for a light installation artist who primarily uses DMX to control his installations. He's set me to the task of finding a small matrix wherein each rgb led can be controlled individually with a dmx signal. Of course this has proven very difficult.

While researching this project I came across the NeoPixel Shield by Adafruit, which would work perfectly for my purposes except that I can't feed DMX directly into it. I'm wondering if I can use a DMX shield and the NeoPixel panel together to accomplish this.

He wants to use the matrix as a mini display to test a program that is being written in Mosaic. So the DMX shield would have to be able to read the DMX signal and control the pixel panel as it would any other light fixture. I know this atypical and not the way these pieces are generally used, I'm just wondering if what I want to do is even possible.

Thanks,

Catherine

How much time do you have?

While researching this project I came across the NeoPixel Shield by Adafruit, which would work perfectly for my purposes except that I can't feed DMX directly into it. I'm wondering if I can use a DMX shield and the NeoPixel panel together to accomplish this.

That seems feasible. The Arduino (with a DMX shield) can receive and decode DMX messages, and it can drive NeoPixels. So, it's just a matter of "connecting" the DMX input and NeoPixel output with software.

Of course, you need to make sure the DMX & NeoPixels use different pins.

I've never used DMX, but it seems like the amount of data you can send to a particular channel is limited. Can you send enough information to address all of the LEDs in the matrix?