Using a DS3231 RTC with TimeAlarms

I'm fairly new to Arduino and have adopted a project to create a four outlet timer using an Uno R3, DS3231 RTC module, I2C LCD 16x2 and a 4 relay module. Each of the outlets will be individually programmable.

All was going well until I tried to decipher how to use the DS3231 to set the time for TimeAlarms. Probably something simple, but Googling the various RTC libraries and descriptions has brought me to this forum for assistance :confused:

So here's an attempt to use clarifying questions to express where I'm trying to go with a sketch:

• What RTC library is best (or recommended)? A library that has documentation to clearly call out the functions and provide usage examples would be great.
  • What code is required to initialize the RTC and then pass the time to TimeAlarms?
  • What code is required to display the time on an I2C LCD?

Thanks!

What RTC library is best (or recommended)? A library that has documentation to clearly call out the functions and provide usage examples would be great.

I strongly recommend the Jack Christensen library DS3232RTC , which works for the DS3231 and it is available at https://github.com/JChristensen/DS3232RTC It is designed to be integrated with the time and time alarms library, and is a drop in replacement for all DS1307sketches.

What code is required to initialize the RTC and then pass the time to TimeAlarms?

The setSynchProvider() function of the time library will link the RTC to the internal clock used with TimeAlarms. It will all be self evident from the example programs.

What code is required to display the time on an I2C LCD?

I strongly recommend that you the new library by Bill Perry designed for these LCD's called hd44780 which is available through the library manager. It is "plug and play". There is no mystery about the backpack and the special"constructor" to get it running.

Most excellent, thanks cattledog - my sketch is up and running!