using a relay and servo with arduino

I’m having an issue with running both of these on 1 arduino. My program runs fine the first time and then it messes up… the servo just stops and starts shaking, the pump doesn’t come on anymore. I’m assuming it has something to do with using the 3.3v port on the arduino to run the pump. I am assuming I need to use the 5. port to run the servo and the relay should use less power. However I am a NOOB so I am prob wrong. ha Here is my sketch. I don’t do many sketches so excuse the mess… and my code.

#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo; // create servo object to control a servo
// a maximum of eight servo objects can be created

int pos = 0; // variable to store the servo position

#include <AFMotor.h>
AF_DCMotor motor(2, MOTOR12_64KHZ); // create motor #2, 64KHz pwm

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600); // set up Serial library at 9600 bps
Serial.println(“Motor test!”);
motor.setSpeed(200); // set the speed to 200/255

{
myservo.attach(9); // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object
}

}
void loop() {

for(pos = 0; pos < 180; pos += 1) // goes from 0 degrees to 180 degrees
// in steps of 1 degree
myservo.write(180); // tell servo to go to position in variable ‘pos’
delay(1500); // waits 15ms for the servo to reach the position

delay(4000); //stay in this position 4 sec.
for(pos = 180; pos>=1; pos-=1) // goes from 180 degrees to 0 degrees

myservo.write(0); // tell servo to go to position in variable ‘pos’
delay(1500); // waits 15ms for the servo to reach the position

Serial.print(“tick”);
motor.run(FORWARD); // turn it on going forward
delay(3000);

Serial.print(“tack”);
motor.run(RELEASE); // stopped
delay(5000);
}

Hey Tate2326,

The first thing I notice on your diagram was, you are using the Arduino 5V power out right.. I would suggest that you use a dedicated power supply for the servo as the servo may require a lot of current.