Using a switch to control two stepper motors independently

Hi forum!

I’m relatively new to Arduino projects, but I’ve muddled through most of the tutorials and I have a pretty good grasp of what’s going on at the simple level I’m working on.

My project involves two stepper motors running simultaneously. They run at different rates. I am using one of these motor shields, and I can get the motors to run just fine using a modified version of AFMotor_MultiStepper (from the AccelStepper library). The last piece of my project is being able to control each of these motors independently with two switches (one for each motor). I cannot figure out how to wire them. Is it possible to do this? I feel like I have to insert the switch between the Uno and the motor shield somehow, but I’m not sure how to do that.

Thanks in advance!

You need to post your code - otherwise I have no idea what to advise you.
And please use the code button </> so your code looks like this and is easy to copy to a text editor

…R

Hi,

When you say control each motor with a switch. Do you mean turn them ON and OFF with a switch each. OR control the SPEED of each motor with their own switches.

If its speed, you would use a potentiometer for each motor.

Tom... :)

Robin2:
You need to post your code - otherwise I have no idea what to advise you.

Thanks for your reply. My question isn’t so much about how to write the code; it’s more of a “how can I actually wire this setup” sort of question. Here’s the code that came with the tutorial I mentioned.

#include <AccelStepper.h>
#include <AFMotor.h>

// two stepper motors one on each port
AF_Stepper motor1(200, 1);
AF_Stepper motor2(200, 2);

// you can change these to DOUBLE or INTERLEAVE or MICROSTEP!
// wrappers for the first motor!
void forwardstep1() {  
  motor1.onestep(FORWARD, SINGLE);
}
void backwardstep1() {  
  motor1.onestep(BACKWARD, SINGLE);
}
// wrappers for the second motor!
void forwardstep2() {  
  motor2.onestep(FORWARD, SINGLE);
}