Using a table

I want to use a table to print out the exact temperature reading relevant to the reading of a thermister connected to say analogue 1.

My thoughts are that I calibrate the thermister in hot water and with the actual readings from analogue 1 and a separate thermometer should end up with a table something like this (actual values are irrelevant just an example)

Reading 340 Temp 20c Reading 400 temp 25c Reading 421 temp 26c reading 460 temp 30c reading 520 temp 40c

can anyone help me with the sketch to set up this table then read analogue1 and use its reading, say 400 to output to serial the value 25c.???

I am still new to this but doing quite well so far. regards john :-/ :-/

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/Map Though this assumes a linear relationship.

Remember, a table could need up to 1024 entries, unless you divided the range down first.

Thanks mate. I will have a look at the link.

i am only interested in a small temp range which from memory was about 300 to about 900 (analogue1 input) that's about 30c to 90c and I do not need to be that accurate maybe 1 or 2 degrees C.

Its just so that I can get an idea of just how hot my BIO is during the process. Thanks John :D :D :D

Just had a look at the link. Can I just ask if you think I have understood it.

It is taking 0 to 1023 and mapping it to 0 to 255. After reading analogue (0) it is taking the read value (val) converting it and calling it (val) and outputting it to pin 9 as another analogue value between 0 to 255.

So if my range were say 300 to 900 equating to 20c to 90c ( it would be fairly linear over this range) then my analogue output value would be somewhere between 20 to 90c.

Presumably instead of analogue writing this to an output I could send this value (val) to the serial port. I could also use this value in my calculations for telling the sketch when my oil is at a certain temp.