Using a TFT to control a valve and display info from hall effect sensor

Okay, so I am COMPLETELY new to the Arduino and microcontrollers in general and have never written code before I took on this project. I’m currently working on having a TFT screen with buttons to open and close the valve and also to adjust the volume of liquid running through the flow sensor before the valve shuts on its own. So essentially the screen will have a start/stop button and a Gal/min live readout of the flow. the start/stop screen just opens and closes a valve. There will be another screen where you set the amount of fluid you want to dispense. So you would punch in like 5 gallons for example. Then, you would hit the start button and the valve would open to allow the water to flow until it hit 5 gallons, then it would automatically shut off. I have a feeling I’ll need to use interrupts, but I’m just unsure of how to write the sketch and research isn’t getting me far. Any help would be appreciated. I’ll include my sketch also.

As far as hardware goes I’m using an arduino uno, a 5v relay cube, a digiten FL-608 3/4" flow meter, and a 3.2" ITEAD Nextion TFT.

The Nextion TFT screens and buttons were programmed with the Nextion Software.

Again, I am a complete amateur, so try not to be too turned off by my code.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <Nextion.h>

float value = 0; // value for amount to flow starts at 0
int valve=12;// valve goes on pin 12
int valveState;

SoftwareSerial nextion(2, 3);// Nextion TX to pin 2 and RX to pin 3 of Arduino

Nextion myNextion(nextion, 9600); //create a Nextion object named myNextion using the nextion serial port @ 9600bps

void incAmt()
  { 
    value = (value+0.5);//add .5 to the value
    myNextion.setComponentText("t0", String(value));//change the value on Nextion
  }  

void decAmt()
  {
    value = (value-0.5);//subtract .5 from the value
    myNextion.setComponentText("t0", String(value));//change the value on the Nextion
  }