Using AD8307 Log Amplifier for Sound Level Meter

Hello All, I would like to try to keep a log of sound levels in indoor home environments. I would probably want to store / transmit about 10 - 20 measures a second for hours at a time. I would like to be able to report the levels with some certainty that I am plus / minus 5 dB SPL.

I can (for now) get my hands on a very pricey high precision sound level meter for calibration. I just can't leave it sitting around in peoples houses for weeks at a time. I prefer to use RMS for averaging but would consider peak finding if someone convinced me it could be accurate. I want to use relatively cheap components and would love to have a full logging system for about $25.

I have some experience messing around with arduino, but not much about sound amplification. Last night I finally realized I would want a very large dynamic range from at least 20dB to 100dB SPL. I then thought about arduino's 10 bit ADC. So a maximum of what? about 60 dB of range? So by googling around I saw that there was such a thing as a log amplifier and then by checking ebay listings, I found the AD8307.