using an arduino pro mini to control a high powered infrared led to control TVs

Hi, I'm a pretty big noob on circuit design, I'm good at math though and I am familiar with both AC and DC equations. My project is to use an arduino pro mini to control a high powered infrared led to control TVs. The reason I am using a high powered LED is because I don't want the led to have to point directly at the tv as its going to be in a fixed location, and I also kind of want the additional experience of working with a higher powered LED as I think a regular LED is just too simple. So I'm using a 940nm LED 5W 1.3v-1.5v forward current of 1500mA and a max current of 3000mA. I'm thinking of putting 2000mA-2500mA through as it certainly will not be on constantly except for when holding volume up and down. So i wanted to use a single power supply to power the arduino and LED, what is my best choice? I've been leading toward using a switching mosfet. I already have a 12v 3A power supply, was wondering how to split it to both the arduino and the transistor (i have also read some articles relating to transistor such as Transistor Switching Circuit Design and Its Theory Transistor Switching Circuit Design and Its Theory). Do I need a voltage regulator board too? And a more general question, can you control both voltage and current with a voltage regulator? ignorant huh? Current must reduce after passing through the mosfet, as it is not always passing current. So how do I separate this voltage current ratio in general? Thanks a million!

And a more general question, can you control both voltage and current with a voltage regulator?

No, unless you have some magical way of controlling your load impedance.

Current must reduce after passing through the mosfet,

No?

as it is not always passing current

If it does not pass current the there is no voltage either.