Using an Arduino to Detect a Short Circuit

Hello All,

I am new here, but I've been working with arduinos for a few years now. I use them on my model railroad and I am trying to figure out how to use an arduino as a switch for a reversing loop. A reversing loop reverses the direction of travel by sending a train in half circle and back on the same track, but without a special reversing loop module, the train causes a short circuit because the polarity of the track switches halfway through the loop.

I'm going to use relays to switch the polarity when the short occurs, but I do not have a way to detect the short circuit and trigger the relays. Is this possible?

I assume the special reversing module has it's own built-in logic so it "knows" all of the conditions and doesn't do something "bad"?

If you have multiple engines and you just want to reverse one section of track, the track sections need to have their own relays do they can be controlled separately.

If a short doesn't kill/damage the power supply, you can simply monitor for an "unusual" drop in voltage when there's a short.

...Otherwise you're essentially measuring resistance... Generally, a DMM measures resistance by supplying a (small) known current and measuring voltage (then "calculating" resistance with Ohm's Law).

It's easy if there's no voltage (other than the what your "meter" is supplying) and no train, because all you need is a power supply through a (series) current limiting resistor. You'll get full-voltage with an open circuit and no voltage with a short.

A couple of things make it difficult...

• If there's a train you have to measure the difference between low resistance (the train motor) and very-low resistance (a short).

• If there's voltage applied, you'd have to measure current (and the voltage). i.e. You can't use your DMM to measure resistance when the circuit-under-test is powered-up.

• Making a constant current source isn't "easy".