Using aquarium heaters to produce variable water temperature: is this possible?

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Arduinos and electronics in general, so sorry if my question appears silly. For my research, I want to manipulate the temperature of air or water in two different tank systems. The goal is to have it reach a different maximum temperature at a set point each day, with a controlled heating ramp. For my air set up, I use a 100W heat bulb connected to a solid-state relay controlled by an Arduino Yun using a DS18B20 temperature sensor, which relays the temperature of the tank and turns the bulb on and off to reach the desired temperature at the specific ramp rate. I've already done a pilot for this system and it has worked really well. I want to use a similar design to manipulate water temperature, and wire an aquarium heater to the SSR instead of a heat bulb. However, most small aquarium heaters come with their own temperature set system. My questions are: will my current design would work with those heaters, or would it just conflict with the temperature set on the actual heater? If it would work, how would I do this? Do I set the temperature on the heater to the maximum? Or would I need to disable the in heater temperature function all together?

Also very open to other suggestions for the water system! I've considered that maybe an immersion heater may be more suitable to bypass the temperature set system on the aquarium heater, but I am only heating up around 16 litres in a plastic container to (at maximum) 35C and aquarium heaters seem to be a safer option.

Thanks!

Ideally, you want full control of the heater, meaning bypassing the built-in temperature control.

If that is not possible, then yes, you can set the built-in control to maximum, and let Arduino do the work to maintain the desired temperature. This gives you an added benefit of a backup in case your Arduino fails, or your code crashes.