Using Arduino as a switch to control high power light strip

Hi, I am relatively new to Arduino and am doing a home project using the microcontroller to control the activation of a 96W light strip. The light strip will be plugged into the wall and I want to use the arduino to complete the wall-to-light circuit at specified times. As this is a high power device, I understand that I may need to use a transistor of some sort but am very lost as to what type of transistor or if there is an easier solution that exists.

Extra information:
The light strip I am using has a switch built in to the wall plug (three prong plug). I took apart the switch box and found that the switch was completing what I believe to be the 'neutral' wire of the three prong circuit.

marshallmccraw:
Hi, I am relatively new to Arduino and am doing a home project using the microcontroller to control the activation of a 96W light strip. The light strip will be plugged into the wall and I want to use the arduino to complete the wall-to-light circuit at specified times. As this is a high power device, I understand that I may need to use a transistor of some sort but am very lost as to what type of transistor or if there is an easier solution that exists.

Extra information:
The light strip I am using has a switch built in to the wall plug (three prong plug). I took apart the switch box and found that the switch was completing what I believe to be the 'neutral' wire of the three prong circuit.

If you are in North America, the neutral wire will be white color and will connect to the silvery prong of the plug. The hot wire will be black and will connect to the brass colored prong of the plug.

If we can assume you are using AC at your plug, you DO NOT want to use a transistor. Use a relay that is designed to switch your mains voltage and control the relay from your Arduino.

Since you have opened the factory made box, you are now liable for any fire, injury, etc, your project may cause.

Paul