Using Arduino as UART?

I am pretty new to all this stuff and don’t really get it, there is an SPI library, and this device I have called a uLog(http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9228) with an ATTiny24 has “Access to ATtiny24 SPI pins”( the pins on the breakoutboard are labeled MOSI, MISO, SCL, RST, 3.3V and GND). It says it can be reprogrammed, but these pins are also for connecting to UART. My question is since there is a way to use the Arduino as an ISP, can you also use it as a UART? I wrote a sketch that is able to recieve the first three chars that the uLog is supposed to print when connected to UART, but cannot get it to accept my input.

void setup() {
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(7, INPUT);
  pinMode(8, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(9, INPUT);
  pinMode(10, INPUT);

int data[100];

Serial.begin(57600);
  Serial.println("Connected...Hello");

digitalWrite(8, LOW);
  digitalWrite(13, LOW);

while(!digitalRead(7));
  Serial.println("Starting...");

digitalWrite(8, HIGH);
  digitalWrite(13, HIGH);

while(!digitalRead(10));
  delayMicroseconds(5);
  int ch1 = readCh();
  int ch2 = readCh();
  int ch3 = readCh();
  Serial.println(ch1);
  Serial.println(ch2);
  Serial.println(char(ch3));

//Button attached to pin 7
  while(!digitalRead(7));

writeCh('r');
  for(int i = 0; i <100; i++) {
    data[i] = readCh();
  }
  for(int i = 0; i <100; i++) {
    Serial.println(data[i], BIN);
  }
  Serial.println();
  Serial.println("Done");

}

int readCh() {
  while(digitalRead(10))
    if(digitalRead(7)) break;
  delayMicroseconds(34);
  int ch = 0b00000000;
  int i = 0;
  for(i = 0; i<8;i++) {
    bitWrite(ch, i, digitalRead(10));
    delayMicroseconds(20);
  }
  return ch;
}

void writeCh(char ch) {
  Serial.print("Writing ch: ");
  Serial.print(ch);
  Serial.print(", ");
  Serial.println(ch, BIN);

digitalWrite(8, LOW);
  delayMicroseconds(21);

for (int k = 0; k < 8; k++)//8 data bits
  {
    if (bitRead(ch,k)) digitalWrite(8, HIGH);
    else digitalWrite(8, LOW);