Using Arduino for a cable cam motor and gimbal control via wifi.

Hi there.

My name is Jonty and I'm in my 4th year doing Product Design and Manufacture (MEng) at Nottingham University.

For my major project I have been designing a wifi controlled cable camera for a GoPro, and am about to start computer modelling my design. For this I need to know what electronics I am going to be using so I can model my parts around them.

I haven't had much teaching in electronics so I feel very lost as to what I need to be using, so would really appreciate any help or advice anyone can offer.

The design uses a motor to drive a main wheel which will allow the unit to travel in both directions along a wire/cable, as well as a 3-axis gimbal for the gopro camera. Both of these will be able to be controlled via an app on a phone/tablet for the position on the wire and the movement of the camera in the gimbal.

So far I understand that I will need an Arduino Uno, an Arduino Wifi shield to receive the signal and an Arduino motor shield to drive the motor. I would also like to have a small LED screen, and an on/off switch for the system and i'm a bit confused as to what else I would need/if I am correct in thinking these items are what I need already.

If possible I would also like some advice on what I will need to connect to the gimbal - the ones I have been researching come with their own board and I am unsure if I can just connect these to the Uno or if I will need something extra.

Many thanks for reading, and thank you in advance for any help.

Jonty

jontywhiter: So far I understand that I will need an Arduino Uno, an Arduino Wifi shield to receive the signal and an Arduino motor shield to drive the motor. I would also like to have a small LED screen, and an on/off switch for the system and i'm a bit confused as to what else I would need/if I am correct in thinking these items are what I need already.