Using Arduino IDE with Atmega328 @ 20Mhz

Hi!

I'm planning a game project that would output a color VGA signal. I would really like to get a few more pixels per scanline so I'm thinking of building a standalone board with a Atmega328 clocked at 20Mhz. Would it still be possible to use the Arduino IDE for development, or do I have to move to Atmel Studio (which I have no experience with)?

My understanding is that the default Optiboot bootloader does not work at 20Mhz, am I right? If bootloading is not an option, what is the next best thing? ISP programmer? I like to be able to iterate and test quickly by uploading code with the bootloader. I have no experience with ISP programmers, how is the workflow compared to using a bootloader?

Any advice is welcome, many thanks in advance!

ps. I prefer the challenge so I'm not interested in using an Arduino Due :)

If you run an ATmega328P at 20 MHz you can upload it with an ISP but the timers will be off. The millis(), micros(), delay() and delayMicroseconds() are designed to run properly only at a very limited number of frequencies (basically 8 MHz and 16 MHz). If you don’t rely on those functions or libraries that rely on those functions you should be OK.

In theory you can even compile a version of Optiboot for 20 MHz and upload using that.

Yes, the easiest way is to use the IDE file option of "upload using programmer" and then get one of the six different 'hardware programmers' that the IDE supports directly (it can be another arduino board running the arduinoISP sketch, or a $5 USBasp e-bay programmer) then connect the programmer to the target ISP pins, select the target board type, select the programmer type and then use the menu file option 'upload using programmer'.