Using Arduino & servo to create snapping motion

Hi all,

Firstly, I’d better start by saying I’m a complete newbie to all things Arduino so taking my 1st steps into a larger world!

… add to that, I’ve never really done anything much with electronics either, so I’m trying to learn lots fast.

I’m happy to learn and figure stuff out, but please just bear with me whilst I do as I’ll inevitably ask a few silly/newbie questions along the way.

Right, now that’s out the way :wink:

I’m working on a project for my daughter where I need to make something that has a “snapping” motion (like a dinosaur gnashing)

I’ve tried adapting a few kids toys but they havent been powerful enough for what I need so I’ve decided to have a go at doing it with Arduino.

My thinking (and I could be wrong so feel free to correct me!), is that I’m going to need a minimum of:

a) an Arduino board
b) a battery pack
c) a switch (it needs to be tiny and easy to push as there will be another part of a seperate system pressing this to trigger the snapping, so I’m thinking 1 of these should do the trick: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/30-Pcs-Tactile-Touch-Push-Button-Key-Tact-Cooker-Switch-6-X-6-X-4-3mm-4-pin-DIP-/350931988353?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item51b52d2f81)
d) a high speed servo (After a bit of research I’m thinking this should do the trick as I need something capable of moving approx 1kg at 3cm at high speed: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__13422__HKS_9257_High_Speed_Servo_4_5kg_25g_0_07sec.html?gclid=CLzwiNqR1cQCFWjlwgodQkMAVw)

Optional upgrade:
e) potentially, I’d like to be able to add a soundboard at a later date so we can add a noise to co-incide with the snapping motion. To keep things simple I thought I’d try to focus on ‘a-d’ first, but thought I’d better flag ‘e’ now in case it impacts on the questions below.

Now for the questions!
1)Type of board: