Using Arduino/Teensy to make a flight sim controller

Hello all. I'm new to Arduino and coding. I have some minimal wiring experience, and I'm decent at figuring things out, but I need some help with my project as it is my first. I will try to be as detailed as I can. I just want to figure out all of what I will need before I buy everything, and how I will go about building this.
With that out of the way...
I want to make a controller for games using either Arduino Uno or Teensy. (I was looking at Teensy because I heard it had easy USB support).
I play War Thunder, and because I'm always looking for a project, I wanted to make my own toggle switches because I'm running out of keybinds on my keybored. And It's just cool. 8)
I want this controller to have 5 On/Off toggle switches for various things (ones like you would see on a guitar for different pickups), and 2 pots for throttle...prop pitch... or whatever.
I understand the switches and pots are fairly easy to wire, but a diagram would still be helpful because I'm new.
And now for the coding portion. What would I need to code to have War Thunder take in the input from the pots as an Axis? (War Thunder has a "throttle Axis option")
And what would I need to code to have the toggle switches be taken in as a button or a toggle?
For example, I want to use one of the switches (with a red cover :grinning:) as the "bail out of aircraft" switch. Normally in the game you set a keybind for this, and HOLD DOWN the button. But if I would want to do this with a switch instead, is it possible?
Also, will I need a breadboard for this, and will it make it simpler and easier? I am absolutely fine with getting one. I'm just asking so I can make a list of materials I need.
Along with the breadboard, I assume I'll need capacitors/resistors/something else. If so, what kind? I think I saw something about 1K capacitor. But again, I don't have much Arduino experience, and will probably need a bit of an explanation of what else I will need.