Using Arduino to connect LEDs and Buttons to Balance Board readings with Matlab

I have never used Arduino before and want to make sure it will work for this project. I am designing a project where a user will be standing on a Wii balance board. There will be a panel in front of them with LEDs and buttons. An LED will turn red and the user will have to shift their weight toward the side with that LED. Once the weight shift is complete, the LED will turn green and they can press the button under the LED. If they hit the button before the weight shift is complete (when the LED is red), they will not complete the task.

I currently have the Wii balance board and am able to get readings from it using Matlab. From the research I have done, it seems like I should be able to use an Arduino as a microcontroller to interact with Matlab to control the LEDs and get input from the buttons. I have never used an Arduino personally though, so I want to make sure I get the right materials. I have a few, more specific questions below.

Is an Arduino the correct tool for this project? If so, is there a certain one that will work better for me than the others? What kind of materials would you recommend for this project? I have done some basic bread board work, but does the Arduino need other materials besides just the buttons and LEDs? Does the Arduino simply plug into a USB port on the computer? Will I be able to send and receive information from it using Matlab this way?

Thanks for any help you can give. Feel free to ask any questions if you need more information about the project. As a new user, any help or guidance will be appreciated.

soper103:
Is an Arduino the correct tool for this project?

It is good at reading the state of buttons, controlling LEDs, and does USB serial communication to a PC, so yes, it's the correct tool.

If so, is there a certain one that will work better for me than the others?