Using Arduino to Control Various High Power LED's

I am relatively new to Arduino and have been doing some research, but would love some input.

To put it simply: I am looking to use 6 high power LED's to illuminate 6 different lamps. I would like to control each lamp/LED individually through simple blinking (turning each lamp on and off at different times). The sequencing of this blinking for each LED will be different.

I would like to integrate pulsing and other lighting effects later on, but I'm just gonna take it one step at a time right now.

I have a vague idea of what I need, but would like some clearer direction. Has anyone attempted a project like this, or are there any tutorials I could reference as a beginner?

Thanks!

PS - I feel like this ( Arduino mood light ) should be of some use to me, but it is lacking the specifics I need as a beginner.

I also found this bit of info on how to create a simple LED blinking circuit, but I need more control over the blinking. How can I tie this into controlling the LED with Arduino? ( Easy high-power LED blinking circuit | Evil Mad Scientist Laboratories )

I've also just come across BlinkM - I very much enjoy this idea. Hmm.

I think I might also be interested in using ShiftBrite - Does that make sense?

Excuse my ignorance, I've just chosen something kind of ambitious for my very first Arduino project and I have a grade that depends on it, too late to turn back now.

Anything that could help me as a total beginner would be most helpful.

You can review the group post subject lines (or use the forum search) for things like "LED transistor", "LED MOSFET", "LED driver", and similar for info.

How powerful were you hoping your LEDs to be?

I'm the guy who makes ShiftBrites and similar stuff.

If you're hoping to provide some higher power light effects, a ShiftBar + Satellite module might be better than a ShiftBrite.

Or if you want to stick to on/off controls, some MOSFETS would do the trick.