using arduino to open and close a circuit

I'm trying to get basically pass a wire through 1 input of the arduino and out another and have the arduino open and close that connection. Its the equivalent simulating a momentary switch on a doorbell to ring at a preset interval (every 10 seconds, for example). I'm fairly new to programming, and having a hard time finding what I'm looking for and would appreciate any help I could get.

Try some of the examples in the Learning section. Reading an input, writing an output are very basic functions.

You should use 5V relay that draws less than 40mA. Or if relay draws more current, you should use a transistor to switch the relay from Arduino output.

I have a basic idea how to assign pins, and have done a lot of the learning with the LEDs and such, but didn't know if what i am trying to accomplish is even possible or not. I wasn't sure if the arduino is capable of connecting two pins (1 input and 1 output) and just pass the connection along. I've tried looking through the tutorials and learning sections, but I learn better from working backwards from something that works and figuring out why, than trying to figure out what I need to do to make it work. Its very counter intuitive with this type of thing lol.

I wasn't sure if the arduino is capable of connecting two pins (1 input and 1 output) and just pass the connection along.

Can you describe what it is you are trying to do? The solution could be as simple as digitalWrite (outputPin, digital read (input pin)); inside a tight loop.

aspyr2: I have a basic idea how to assign pins, and have done a lot of the learning with the LEDs and such, but didn't know if what i am trying to accomplish is even possible or not. I wasn't sure if the arduino is capable of connecting two pins (1 input and 1 output) and just pass the connection along.