Using Arduino Uno to control simple input/output transformations

Hi All,

I am currently working on a project which monitors the position of a lever, using IR sensors,
and decides whether the movement of the lever has fulfilled certain criteria. This is my first project with Arduino and am having trouble integrating several different inputs and using certain time-dependant criteria to control my desired outputs. I have tried my best to break down my project/code into understandable sections.

This project has three different modes defined by the state of two toggle switches. These modes are detailed below.

The simplest is mode 1:

Mode 1: If the lever breaks the back (TriggerSensor) sensor at any point, then proceeds to break the front (SuccessSensor) within any time frame, a success is recorded.

The code we are using for mode 1: (please see end of this post for full commented code for this project)

void mode1() {
  if (digitalRead(TriggerSensorIn == LOW)) {
    backPressed = true;
  }
  if (backPressed = true && digitalRead(RewardSensorIn == LOW)) {
    giveReward();
    servoReset();
    backPressed = false;
  }
}

Mode 2: Now there is a timeout phase of a defined 4 seconds (interval1). For a successful action, the lever has to be held breaking TriggerSensor for interval1, at which point a tone will sound for 2 seconds (interval2). During this interval2, if the SuccessSensor is broken, a success is recorded.

Failure within mode 2: If the TriggerSensor is unbroken before the tone sounds (i.e. during interval1), a signal is sent to reset the lever position (taken care of by a PICAXE-08 servo driver, no problems with this aspect of the project).
If the SuccessSensor is not triggered within the window of interval2 during which the tone is sounding, a signal is again sent to reset the lever position.

Code we are using for mode 2:

void mode2() {
    timer0 -= interval1; //reset the timer
    while (digitalRead(TriggerSensorIn == LOW)) {