Using Arduino with an awesome old plotter?

I was recently gifted via Freecycle a giant old Houston Intstruments DMP-60 plotter. The thing is amazing and works great, or at least it plots its test functions very well. Here is the same plotter in action: (jump to the end for the actual plotting)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMKNRkNPZIw

anyway, I'm on a mac and I've all but given up hope for actually controlling the thing with the computer, as it seems that OS X doesn't support any parallel to usb adapters. My next thinking is maybe I can use the arduino to control the plotter in some rough way by sending info to the parallel connection. Of course thats a little beyond my programming expertise since I have no experience with how a parallel port would be "talked to". There are old drivers for the plotter (win 98 & 2000) and I was wondering if there is a way to take the drivers apart to see what commands are being sent to do what. Again a little beyond my level. Any advice or guidance or a simple it'll never work would be appreciated.

Beyond interfacing via the parallel port the only other thing I can think to do is pull the brain out and find all the leads for the various motors and interface directly with an arduino. I'm competent with steppers and that sort of thing, it just seems ashame to dumb the thing down in order to use it.

Anyway, thats my shot in the dark, thanks in advance.

easiest way would be to get a old junker pc or pc laptop and use it as a control box over network to your mac

if you want to control it with an arduino might want to look here

and yes plotters ROCK (altho i would be more apt to get a desktop model, depends on use i guess)

as it seems that OS X doesn't support any parallel to usb adapters.

Not true it supports one that I use.