Using Arduino2009 and XBee module

Hi.
I am pretty new with arduino and already lost !
I have a arduino USB board (2009), the sparkfun USB shield (ref DEV-09063), and a XBee serie 1 module (ref WRL-08665 on sparkfun site).

I can’t manage to get in command mode.

1. I tried with XCTU software and the XBee module is not detected
  2. I tried with arduino 0017 (code extract below)

Thus I was wondering if the Xbee serie 1 module are compatible with my USB shield. Does any one experimented my problem ?

Or any idea why it doesn’t work with XCTU ?

Do you know any step-by-step tutorial to assemble an arduino2009 + XBEE shield + XBee module Serie 1 ?

Thanks.

Jérémy

Code extract to get command mode with arduino environnement :

#include <XBee.h>

XBee xbee = XBee();
int STATUS_LED = 13;
void setup()
{ xbee.begin(9600);
Serial.begin(9600);
setDestination();
}

void setDestination() {
long count = 0;
// put the radio in command mode:
Serial.print("+++");
// wait for the radio to respond with “OK\r”
char thisByte = 0;
while (thisByte != ‘\r’) {
if (Serial.available() > 0) {
thisByte = Serial.read();
}
if (count++ > 100000){
Serial.print(“Break code”);
break;
}
}
if (count <= 100000) {
Serial.print(“Command Mode OK”);

=> I always get the “Break code” message in the serial display.

Did you remove the microcontroller from your Arduino board when trying to use X-CTU to configure the XBee?

There's some documentation here: http://arduino.cc/en/Guide/ArduinoXbeeShield

Hi. Thanks for your answer, you was right. I had seen the "remove the microcontroller" but was thinking it was the XBEE module.

I just had an issue with the jumpers on the XBEE shield. On the board, it is written XBEE/USB and there is a jumper above and below. For the time being, I still don't know if : - both jumpers have to be moved for switch to USB/XBEE mode - just one jumper is the USB/XBEE switch (but which one ?) And I can't manage to find any reliable documentation on this shield.