Using AT5561D as driver for DC motor

I'm new to Arduino and this is probably a dumb question, but I haven't been able to find an answer anywhere. I'm trying to get a motor to spin forward and backward. I took apart a working toy and found an AT5561D driver in it. I assumed I'd be able to do connect it to an uno board, but I don't know how. I looked up the pin description of driver and tried to follow these instructions https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-arduino-lesson-15-dc-motor-reversing/overview I tried for hours, but couldn't figure out what the correct breadboard setup should be. Can anyone help me?

Edit: here is the data sheet http://www.datasheetdir.com/AT5561D+download

From what I found, to run a motor using that chip it looks to me that you need to:

• Put 5V across pin7 and ground (pin 3) to drive the chip
  • Put whatever voltage the motor needs across pin 6 and ground
  • Put high and low from two Arduino pins onto pins 1 and 8 for one direction
  • Put low and high from those two Arduino pins onto pins 1 and 8 for the other direction
  • Make sure the Arduino ground is connected to the chip ground pin 3

I also think that if you make the Arduino control lines low / low the motor will coast to a stop and high / high will brake.

edit: also looks like ground 2 should be grounded to 3; not sure what the difference is between the two

Thank you so much for your expertise! I will try that and see if it works out.

Follow-up question: does this set-up mean that I can't use any part of the sketch from the adafruit lesson?

Sandbot: Thank you so much for your expertise! I will try that and see if it works out.

Follow-up question: does this set-up mean that I can't use any part of the sketch from the adafruit lesson?

First the chip you have doesn't have the enable requirement like the 293 does; seems the motor is always enabled and will rum with the high/low or low/high on pins 1 and 8 straightaway.