Using ATTiny45 with an External 16Mhz crystal

Hello forum!

I'm pretty new to the whole Arduino thing, but I've been having a lot of fun so far!

I'm trying to use an ATTiny45 as an IR remote control, and I'm just using the internal 8MHz clock. It's been intermittent at best.

Searching around, I see people are using 20MHz crystals with these chips, but all I have on hand are the 16MHz ones.. which is really fast enough for what I'm doing.

I know I need to set fuse bits for it, but I don't know how to do that and I don't see any options for it in the Arduino IDE.

I'd just use the ATMega328, but since I'm only using 2 digital IO pins, this seems like crazy overkill.

The ATtinyX5 family will run at 16 MHz from the internal oscillator.

Tuning the oscillator will probably get you much better results without having to use an external crystal.

Board entry for using an external crystal with an ATtiny85. The fuses should be identical for an ATtiny45…
http://code.google.com/p/arduino-tiny/source/browse/Prospective+Boards.txt#194

So just burn the ATTiny85 bootloader to it?

Speed isn't the question (since 1MHz is plenty fast enough for what I'm doing), just simpler to do this than to try to rely on the internal oscillator.

edit:

avrdude: Expected signature for ATtiny85 is 1E 93 0B
         Double check chip, or use -F to override this check.

I find it hard to imagine anything simpler than an Attiny at 1MHz ???

...R

Huh?

Can't they run at 128KHz or something?

Anyway, I just want to run with the external 16MHz crystal so I can get reliable timings without messing with it too much.

danrulz98: I know I need to set fuse bits for it, but I don't know how to do that and I don't see any options for it in the Arduino IDE.

The Arduino IDE sets the fuse bits when you do "Burn bootloader" (even when there's no bootloader to burn).